top of page

Summer Bucket List

There are certain things that you always make a point to do when summertime comes around whether is going to the beach or pool, going to a music festival, or enjoy watching some outdoor sports (for everyone back home, that’s baseball season, go Cubs!).

I may be cheating on this since I’m chasing summer all year, but these are all my favorite things to do when summer time comes around and for all you midwestern folk back home, I’m sorry but your summer is halfway through.

 

Go on a Bike Tour | Buenos Aires, Argentina

A little bit of history, a little bit of fernet and coke, a little bit of biking. A bike tour is a great way to see a large portion of a city in a short period of time with a guide who will help you dive deeper into the history and culture of the place. The best part is, you can do this in a city you’ve lived in for years and still learn something new and, most importantly, walk away with a few great restaurant recommendations.

 

Share a Meal | Argentina

I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again (and again, and again...), Argentina is one of my all time favorite countries largely because of their people and their culture of sharing. One of my favorite things to do is share a good meal with people I love. My two months in Argentina were full of Remote Year family dinners cooked by us or at a restaurant and I’m still dreaming about them.

 

Eat Local | Everywhere

My apartment in Cordoba was just a five minute walk from a Tuesday farmers market and they had some of the BEST fresh produce. In Prague, I also find myself a 5 minute walk from a farmers market that runs Wednesday through Saturday. It’s my first week here and I’ve been every day. Is the produce cheaper? Not always, but it’s always tastier, and I love knowing where it’s coming from. Shop local!

 

Winery (or Brewery) Tour | Mendoza, Argentina

From Cordoba, a group of about ten of us took a weekend trip from the city to learn about Argentinian wines (mostly to drink all the Argentinian wines). The best part about going on a winery or brewery tour is that a lot of times you can do it in your own backyard. Microbreweries are popping up everywhere and ordering a wine flight on the menu is almost like doing a wine tour (minus the vineyard). You'd be surprised what you can find!

 

Reconnect with Nature | Salkantay Trail, Peru

Go camping, go hiking, just get outdoors. There’s no therapy quite like getting back in nature, completely cut off from the rest of the world. It’s liberating and refreshing and challenging, I can keep going on, but sometimes, getting offline, and back into nature is just what the doctor ordered.

 

Play / Watch Summer Sports | South America

Football (soccer) games in Latin America are incredible. They're absolutely insane. Playing those pick up games with the locals are just as intense. For all my midwesterners, get to a ball game or join a summer kickball or beach volleyball league. Get outdoors, get your sweat on, and don't forget to hydrate!

 

Treat Yourself | Cartagena, Colombia

Splurge on something you love, treat yourself to a pamper day, or book that vacation. Do it just because, you deserve it!

 

Visit a Museum | Lima, Peru

I’m not a museum person. This is something I’ve learned over my many years of travels, I’m just not a museum person. With that being said, there are few museums I enjoy and the one museum I visited in Lima is on that list. It was a weird mix of mayan artifacts, and modern art (squiggly lines on a blank canvas that look like they were drawn by a toddler, this is art?) But I thoroughly enjoyed it!

 

Have a Drink at a Rooftop Bar | Everywhere

Where haven’t I hung out on a rooftop and had a few drinks? Whether that rooftop is a proper establishment or just the rooftop of an apartment building, grab some friends and grab some drinks. It's always a good time and the views aren't too shabby either.

 

Find Water | Casa En El Agua, Colombia

I love water. This should come as no surprise to anyone. I absolutely love water. It feels like home, and water in summertime is essential. It’s not summer without a trip to the pool or down to the beach for some sunshine and a refreshing dip. I couldn’t imagine summer without it.

 

Watch the Sunset | Lisbon, Portugal

I’ve never met a sunset I didn’t like. My favorite sunsets of the year have been from my apartment in Lisbon, overlooking the river. Every night was an absolute delight and worth the 140 stairs up. Grab a friend, grab a drink, and watch the sun set on another day.

 

Go Cafe Hopping | Everywhere

Cafe-hopping on the weekend is one of my absolute favorite things to do, especially on a writing day. I’ve found my fair share of amazing cafes from Medellin, Colombia to Lisbon, Portugal to Buenos Aires, Argentina. Finding my go to coffee spot, getting to know my baristas and eating all the pastries is my favorite.

 

Take a Cooking Class | Lisbon, Portugal

Time Out Market Lisbon is host to dozens of food stalls of some of the top rated restaurants in the city. They also have cooking classes. I pride myself on being pretty decent in the kitchen, but I learned so much during this class, I can't wait to go to another one back home!

 

Get Creative | Lisbon, Portugal

Take an art class, get creative, summer is for expressing yourself. In Lisbon, we met with a local tile maker and learned about the history of tile making and even got to paint a tile ourselves! It was incredibly difficult but allowed you to slow down and forget about everything else going on around you. I found it quite relaxing and a change in pace from my normal every day activities.

 

Outdoor Movie / Music | Prague, Czech Republic

Tonight I'm Czeching out Prague's Jazz Festival in the middle of Old Town Square. Back home in Chicago I make an effort to visit Millennium Park for their summer concert series of either Jazz or Classical Music at least a couple times each summer. There's something about fresh air and great music that gets me every time. The last time I enjoyed some outdoor tunes was in Buenos Aires at La Bomba in an abandoned warehouse.

 

Go to a Music Festival | Sziget, Budapest, Hungary

Yes, I lived in Chicago for years. No, I never made it Lollapalooza. My first music festival is just days away and I’m beyond excited. Three years ago I had heard about Sziget during my travels but couldn't swing it that trip, or the next. This year, I'm finally going and with my Remote Year family. Get your groove on at a music festival this summer!

 

Read a Book | Everywhere

It's not summer unless I read. The month of July I read (and listened to) NINE books. Yep, that's right. Nine. I don't know about you, but it's not summer unless I read. Summer 2018 favorite? Matchmaking for Beginners by Maddie Dawson.

 

The best thing about a summer bucket list is you don'thave to break the bank to do it. I bet you can do each of these things locally, and discover a whole new side of your city. What are you summer bucket list items?

Inspired by: The Discoverer


bottom of page